25 cases registered under sedition law in IIOJK in 5 years

Srinagar:   At a time when the Indian Supreme Court has put a temporary hold on the British-era sedition law, the Indian official data reveals that 25 cases were registered under it in occupied Jammu & Kashmir from 2014 to 2019.
According to the data, the Indian Supreme Court restrained the authorities from registering FIRs, continuing any investigations or taking any coercive measures under section 124A (sedition) till the BJP government in New Delhi completes review.
The court also ordered that appeals and proceedings under Section 124A should be kept in abeyance for the time being.
According to the data, one case each under the sedition law was registered in occupied Jammu and Kashmir in 2015 and 2017.
The data lays bare that 12 cases were registered in 2018 when IIOJK was ruled by the PDP-BJP coalition government for nearly six months before imposition of Governor’s Rule on June 20, 2018.
In the year 2019 when India violating international laws abrogated Article 370, the Modi regime divided Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories, 11 cases were registered under the sedition law in J&K.
It is worth mentioning here that section 124A of IPC states that whoever “brings or attempts to bring into hatred or contempt, or excites or attempts to excite disaffection towards the government established by law in India” can be held to have committed sedition.

Similar Posts