Senate passes Amendment Bill of delimitation with two third majority


Islamabad: The Senate on Tuesday passed “The Bill of delimitation 2017(Amendment)” by two third majority.
As many as eighty four members voted in favour of the bill while one member opposed it. The bill was moved by Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Sheikh Aftab Ahmed.
The bill provides allocation of seats in the National Assembly according to the provisional results of the census 2017 without changing the existing total number of general seats and women seats and retaining the share of the Federally Administrated Tribal Areas.
According to the details, upper house meeting headed by Senate Chairman Mian Raza Rabbani was held in parliament.
Delimitation bill was presented in the meeting and the process of clearing the bill began after some discussion.
It is worth mentioning here that PML-Q’s Kamil Ali Agha given his vote against. JUI-F senator Hafiz Hamdullha lodged protest against the bill and added that the matter is catching delay for past many months.
The bill known as Constitutional Amendment Bill, 2017, pertains to fresh delimitation of the constituencies in accordance with the provisional results of the latest census for upcoming General Elections in 2018.
In light of the Constitutional Amendment Bill 2017, Punjab will lose nine seats in the National Assembly while Islamabad will get one, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa five, and Balochistan three more seats. However, the NA seats for FATA and Sindh will remain unchanged. The amendments have been made in line with the provisional census results.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here