PCB announces

Shehzad Sabzal
The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday named the 16-player team for the three International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League One-Day Internationals (ODI) against the West Indies. The selectors have chosen to cut the 21-player roster for the home Australia ODIs to 16 players because the series will not be played in a Managed Event Environment. Asif Afridi, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, and Usman Qadir have been pulled out of the squad for the upcoming fixtures. Due to Saud Shakeel’s scheduled sinus surgery, he was not considered. The Pindi Cricket Stadium will host these games on the 8th, 10th, and 12th of June. Shadab Khan, who missed the Australia ODIs owing to an injury, has been named vice-captain and will lead the team. The group will convene in Rawalpindi on June 1 for a training camp and Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Rizwan and Shadab Khan, who are now playing in the English County Championship, will join the squad in time for the practise sessions.“We have decided to give our side the best chance to collect as many points as possible and strengthen our chances of proceeding directly to the pinnacle 50-over tournament as the ODIs against the West Indies are part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 qualification,” said Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim. We’ve kept the same core group of players in order to let them become more familiar with the format. I’m hoping that this group can build on their success in the Australia series. Due to the lack of a managed event environment and the flexibility of the participants, we’ve whittled the squad down to 16 members.“For the Australia ODIs, we had also declared backup players as cover to those players who were struggling with ailments. Mohammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan are now fully fit, allowing us to exclude Asif Afridi and Usman Qadir from the squad. PCB’s intentions for the shortest format include Usman, Asif Ali, and Haider Ali, who will all play in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2022, according to the director of cricket.There are three openers, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris and Mohammad Rizwan, two wicketkeepers/batsmen, two spin all-rounders Mohammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan, and five fast bowlers in Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Shahnawaz Dahani. Three of Pakistan’s batters are ranked in the top 15 by the International Cricket Council (ICC), with Babar being the highest, Imam-ul-Haq coming in third, and Fakhar Zaman coming in 12th. For bowlers, the highest-ranked Shaheen Shah Afridi is at No. 7. Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris (wicketkeeper/batter), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper/batter), Mohammad Wasim Junior, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shahnawaz Afridi, and Zahid Mahmood make up.

Similar Posts