Unofficial Results of bye-polls to both LA-3 Mirpur~III and LA-12 Charhoi Kotli-V constituencies unveiled;


Altaf Hamid Rao,

PTI, PPP win each seat defeating their nearest rival PML (N),

MIRPUR (AJK),   (Parliament Times) : Returning officers of both LA-3 Mirpur~III and LA-12 Charhoi Kotli-V constituencies of Azad Jammu Kashmir Legislative Assembly have announced the unofficial results of the bye elections held to the both vacant seats of the lower house of the AJK Parliament late Sunday, authorities said.

According to the results, Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) won the polls in constituency LA~3, Mirpur ~III with a thumping majority by resorting to a convincing defeat to the closest rival Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz), besides PPP and the Tehreek-e-Labaik Pakistan (TLP) in the election.

Similarly Pakistan Peoples Party,( PPP) (AJK Chapter) – the main opposition party in Azad Jammu Kashmir Legislative Assembly, won the election in LA-12 – Charhoi – Kotli-V constituency defeating its nearest rivals including PTI and the PML (N)’s candidates in the polls.

Mirpur District AJK Election Commission Officer Arshad Hussain told this Correspondent on Monday that Yasir Sultan, candidate of the PTI won the keenly-contested bye-election to the vacant seat in his parent constituency (LA 03 – Mirpur ~III) of AJK Legislative Assembly, with a clear margin against his nearest rival Ch. Muhammad Saeed of PML (N).

The PTI’s victorious candidate Yasir Sultan also defeated two of rival big wigs including Ch. Muhammad Saeed nominee of PML (N) , Umair Asghar, candidate of Tehreeke.Labaik Pakistan (TLP) and Ch. Muhammad Ashraf, the nominee of PPP (AJK), besides eight other candidates.

The triumphant Yasir Sultan Chaudhry of PTI secured 20142 votes against his nearest rival Ch Saeed Khan of PML ~N AJK who bagged 11608 votes, the results announced by the Returning Officer of the constituency said.

The TLP’s nominee Umair Asghar Chaudhry remained third in the list of the contestants who obtained 3843 and the PPP’s Ch Muhammad Ashraf, ex city Mayor, who bagged 1450 votes facing a convincing defeat in the polls at the hands of the PTI’s triumphant candidate Yasir Sultan, the son of newly elected President of AJK State Barrister Sultan Mahmood Choudhry.

This seat had fallen vacant following the election of Barrister Sultan Mahmood Choudhry as President of Azad Jammu Kashmir State in the recent past.

Similarly, PPP’s nominee Aamir Yaseen won the election from LA-12 Charhoi – Kotli-V defeating his nearest rival Shoukat Fareed, the candidate of PTI and Muhammad Riasat Khan of PML (N).

The victorious Aamir Yaseen bagged 23980 votes against his nearest rivals including Shoukat Fareed of PTI and Muhammad Riasat Khan of PML – N who respectively obtained 19101 and 17944 votes in the election.

This seat had fallen vacant after withdrawal by Ch. Muhammad Yaseen, sitting PPP AJK President, from the seat for having been elected from two seats in the July 25 Azad Jammu Kashmir Legislative Assembly elections – including from Kotli and Charhoi constituencies.

The overall turnout remained over 44 percent in both of the elections.