Rangers called in to maintain complete peace and order during bye-polls to 02 AJK LA constituencies on Sunday – Oct. 10


Altaf Hamid Rao.


All  set to hold  bye-elections hold the bye-elections in  free, fair, peaceful atmosphere: Div. Commissioner Ch. Muhammad Raqeeb,

MIRPUR (AJK),    (Parliament Times)  : The Para-military troops of Pakistan Rangers have been summoned to assist the local administration including AJK police to maintain complete peace and order during the bye elections to two electoral constituencies of Azad Jammu Kashmir Legislative Assembly including LA-3 Mirpur-III and LA-12 (Charhoi) Kotli – V scheduled to be held on Sunday – Oct. 10, authorities said.

Commissioner Mirpur Division Chaudhry Muhammad Raqeeb told our Special AJK Correspondent Altaf Hamid ao here on Saturday that 300 troops or Rangers have been deployed at all the polling stations – besides local police force in Mirpur LA-3 Mirpur III constituency. Whereas 400 Rangers troops have been posted at all normal, sensitive and extra sensitive police stations in LA-12 Charhoi – Kotli V constituency to assist the local police and administration for ensuring the holding of the elections in absolutely, free, fair an peaceful atmosphere, he added.

The Divisional Commissioner continued that the adequate arrangements have been given final touches for holding of the scheduled bye-polls in both of the constituencies of Mirpur City in Mirpur district and Chahoi town of Kotli district in Mirpur Division.

In Mirpur LA-3 Mirpur-III constituency, a total of 85925 registered voters including 45447 male and 40478 female voters will go to the polls to exercise their right of franchise to elect their representative to the State Legislative Assembly for next 05 years constitutional term of the Legislative Assembly, lower house of the AJK Parliament, Ch. Muhammad Raqeeb said adding that a total of 147 polling stations including 68 for males, 65 for females and 14 combined have been established in Mirpur LA-3 Mirpur-III constituency to facilitate the voters to use their right of vote in the polls.

Similarly in LA- LA-12 Kotli- V constituency, a total of 106428 registered voters including 57838 male and 48590 female voters will go to polls to exercise their right of franchise at a total of 198 polling stations, set up in the constituency to facilitate voters to elect their representative to the State Legislative Assembly, he said

The Divisional Commissioner said that all is set to hold the bye-elections to two vacant seats of Azad Jammu Kashmir Legislative Assembly’s constituencies – to LA-3 Mirpur-III and LA-12 (Charhoi) Kotli – V tomorrow – Sunday (October 10) in a free, fair, transparent and peaceful manner under the supervision of judiciary and Azad Jammu Kashmir Election Commission,

It may be added that the seat of LA-3 Mirpur-III had fallen vacant due to Barrister Sultan Mahamood Choudhry’s election as President of Azad Jammu Kashmir State. Sultan, the nominee of PTI, had won the seat from this constituency in July 25 general elections in AJK.

Similarly LA 12 (Charhoi) Kotli-V had fallen vacant due to the resignation of Ch.Muhammad Yasin from one out of two seats he had won in the July 25 general elections – simultaneously from Kotli city and Charhoi constituencies.

Several of the illustrious political parties of power politics including the AJK’s sitting ruling Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf ( PTI ), AJK chapters of PML (N}, PPP, Tehreek e Labaik Pakistan (TLP), have fielded their respective candidates – besides a large number of the independent candidates in the polls.