Bye Polls in LA~3 Mirpur, LA~12 Kotli to be held on Oct. 10: AJK EC announces schedule:


Altaf Hamid Rao.

MIRPUR (AJK),    (Parliament Times) : Azad Jammu and Kashmir Election Commission has announced the schedule of the by-election of the Azad Jammu and Kashmir legislative Assembly in constituencies LA 3 Mirpur 3 and LA12 Kotli 5.

The seat of LA 3 Mirpur 3 has fallen vacant due to Sultan Mehamood Choudhry’s election as President of Azad Jammu Kashmir. While LA 12 Kotli 5 fallen vacant due to the resignation of Ch.Muhammad Yasin from one out of two seats he had won in July 25, 2021 AJK general election.

According to the schedule the nomination papers will be filed before the returning officer on 13th September 2021 up to 4 pm while scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held on 14th September2021 from 8 am to 2.00 pm and the list of the valid candidates will be published the same day.

Appeals against the acceptance or rejection of nomination papers can be filed before the election commission on 18th September 2021 before 2 pm.

The Election Commission will hear the appeals on 20th September from 9 am to 4 pm while the decisions will be announced on 22nd September. The candidates can withdraw their nomination papers on 23rd September before 2 pm .

Symbol will be allotted to the candidates on 24th September 2021 and final lists of the candidates will be published the same day.

The Elections to these seats will be held on 10th October 2021 from 8 am to 5 pm without any break.