New AJK State President to be elected on Tuesday ~ August 17

Altaf Hamid Rao.



MIRPUR (AJK),    (Parliament Times) : The newly~elected PTI~led Azad Jammu Kashmir Legislative Assembly will elect new President of the Azad Jammu Kashmir State on Tuesday ~ August 17 for the stipulated next five years constitutional term.

President of Azad Jammu and Kashmir Sardar Masood Khan has summoned special session of Azad Jammu Kashmir Legislative Assembly on August 17 at 10.00 a.m in the AJK capital.

After the introduction of 13th amendment in the Interim Constitution of Azad Jammu Kashmir Act 1974, the electoral college to choose the AJK State President stands comprising the elected members of the AJK Legislative Assembly.

The stipulated constitutional term of the sitting AJK President Sardar Masood Khan, is going to end on August 25 this year.

AJK’s newly~elected PTI~led Government has fielded Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry as the candidate of Pakistan Tehreek e Insaaf (PTI) for the office of the President of Azad Jammu and Kashmir State in the election to be held under the supervision of AJK Election Commission.

The new president of AJK State, to be elected on August 17, will take oath of office on August 24, according to the election.schedule.

Barrister Sultan, the candidate of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf, had won the July 25 election to AJK Legislative Assembly from his parent Mirpur LA-3 constituency Mirpur city by defeating his nearest rival Ch Muhammad Saeed of Pakistan Muslim League (N) by 3147 votes.

Similar Posts