AKNS elections 2020-21: all candidates elected unopposed


Sardar Zahid Tabbasum to lead AKNS as president

ISLAMABAD,(Parliament Times):   “In All Kashmir Newspapers Society (AKNS) elections for the year of 2020-21 all the candidates have been elected unopposed”, says a press release issued here on Monday. According to details Sardar Zahid Tabbasum and Mohammad Zaheer Jagwal submitted their nomination papers for the presidency. Later on Jagwal withdrew his nomination papers thus paving a way for Mr. Tbassam to become AKNS president unopposed. Khalid Mahmood Chaudhry who submitted his nomination papers emerged as the lone candidate for the post of senior Vice President AKNS as no other candidate appeared for this position. So Khalid Mehmood Chaudhry was also declared elected as the senior vice-president of the organization.

Similarly, for two vice president posts, three candidates including Abid Siddique, Mohammed Javed Chaudhry and Khwaja Mohsen submitted their papers. Khwaja Mohsin withdrew his papers as a result Sardar Abid Siddique, Muhammad Javed Chaudhry were declared elected unopposed. For the post of AKNS Secretary General Raja Amjad Hussain Khan and Javed Chudhary submitted their papers but Raja Amjad was declared elected after Javed Chudhary withdrew his nomination papers. Likewise, Raja Sohrab Khan, Javed Iqbal Chaudhry and Nisar Ahmad Kayani being the lone candidates in the fray were declared elected unopposed as Deputy Secretary General, Secretary Finance and Secretary information respectively. Whereas three candidates Sherbaz Munier Chaudhry, Tanvir Tanoli and Amir Naveed Shahzad who contested elections for the AKNS executive committee members were also elected unopposed. According to the Election Commission, the newly elected office bearers of the Executive Committee will be one year.

Meanwhile, the concluding session of the All Kashmir Newspaper Society (AKNS) elections 2020-21 was held at Sadar Chinar’s office yesterday, which was participated by Javed Iqbal, RAJ Amjad Hussain, Javed Chaudhry and Mohsin Khwaja. During the meeting, the members of AKNS discussed the issue of unanimous selection of all the officials by making consensus and making AKNS a viable institution. The newly elected President Sardar Zahid Tabassam and others appreciated the role of Raja Kafil, Amjad Chaudhry and Ijaz Abbasi for resolving all issues in a good manner and assured that the AKNS would work for solidarity and betterment of the forum. All the members of the AKS while felicitating the newly elected office bearers appreciated the senior leaders of AKNS for their effective role in forging broad-based consensus amongst the members of the organization. The expressed the hope that the newly elected body would  painstaking work to take journalist community and media organizations out of the current crisis.