Altaf Rao felicitates newly-elected office bearers of Kashmir Press club


MIRPUR (AJK):     (Parliament Times)    It is, perhaps, for the first time in the journalistic history of Indian occupied Kashmir that an election was held for constituting apex body of Kashmir Press Club (Aiwan-e-Sahafat) wherein senior journalist Shuja Ul Haq was elected as its President

According to reports Mr. Haq won by a narrow margin of one vote defeating his nearest rival and senior journalist Haroon Rashid Shah, who along with Zulfikar Majid was in the fray for Presidential post. Other newly-elected office bearers of the club included Vice President Moazam Mohammad, Ishfaq Tantray (General Secretary) and Farooq Javed Khan (Treasurer).

Pertinently, Kashmir had no press club. It was only in 2018 that the government allotted space at the Residency Road Srinagar for the Press Club.

Journalist fraternity on both sides of the LoC, while welcoming the development termed it as a great omen for the media industry.

Senior AJK journalist and former President of Kashmir Press Club Mirpur (AJK) Altaf Hamid Rao has congratulated the newly elected office bearers and members of the Kashmir Press Club Srinagar for smooth conduct of its first ever election.

In a message of felicitation to the newly-elected office bearers, released to the media here Tuesday evening, Rao described the institution of free press as the pillar and strength of every civilized institution. He hoped that Kashmir Press Club will address the scores of serious issues faced by the journalist fraternity of the Indian occupied Kashmir valley , and also act as a voice of common people in the valley.