Australia announces squad for ICC World Cup 2019

SYDNEY:      Steve Smith and David Warner have been named in Australia’s World Cup squad after serving year-long bans for ball-tampering.
Former captain Smith and vice-captain Warner were fined and banned for their roles in the incident during the third Test in South Africa in March 2018. Fellow batsman Cameron Bancroft, banned for nine months, returned in December.
Australia chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns said Smith and Warner’s return to cricket had been “pleasing”. They have played in this season’s Indian Premier League (IPL) for Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad respectively.
“We have been extremely pleased with how the ODI squad has been building over the past six months, including the recent series wins in India and against Pakistan in the UAE,” said Hohns. “Steve Smith and David Warner come back into the squad. Both are world-class players and it has been pleasing to see them produce some good form in the IPL.”
Spinners Adam Zampa and Nathan Lyon have been named in the Australia squad alongside Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Jason Behrendorff, Jhye Richardson and Nathan Coulter-Nile. But Josh Hazlewood and Peter Handscomb – who scored his maiden one-day hundred in India last month – have not been included. Australia start their World Cup campaign against Afghanistan in Bristol on 1 June.

Check Also

PCB confirms all 128 COVID-19 tests of PSL players are negative

LAHORE:   The Pakistan Cricket Board Thursday confirmed it conducted 128 COVID-19 tests on the players, …