PM Imran granted permanent exemption in PTV, Parliament attack case

Spread the love

ISLAMABAD: Anti Terrorism Court (ATC) has granted permanent exemption to Prime Minister (PM) Imran Khan from attendance in PTV, Parliament attack case.
During PML-N regime 126 days long dharna was staged jointly by PTI and PAT in 2014 at Islamabad. The workers of these two parties attacked PTV and parliament. A case was registered against them for rioting in red zone. Imran Khan , newly elected president Arif Alvi , finance minister Asad Omar, foreign minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi and others are named in this case.
The case came up for hearing before ATC Tuesday.
Babar Awan advocate appeared on behalf of Imran Khan in the court who filed application in the court seeking permanent exemption for PM Imran Khan.
Awan took the plea that the co-accused can be grated exemption if accused are more than one person.
The prosecutor said he has no objection over granting exemption to PM Imran Khan.
The court granted PM Imran Khan permanent exemption.
Babar Awan filed affidavit in the court saying he will appear in the court in place of Imran Khan.
On the other hand foreign minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, finance minister Asad Omar, Jahangir Tareen, Ejaz Chaudhry and Shafqat Mehmood also filed application seeking exemption from attendance in the court.

Similar Posts