Home / National News / Members of 15th National Assembly sworn in

Members of 15th National Assembly sworn in

ISLAMABAD: The fifteenth National Assembly of Pakistan came into being today with the oath-taking of newly elected members at its inaugural session at the Parliament House in Islamabad.
At the outset of the proceedings, national anthem was played which was followed by recitation from Holy Quran and Naat.
The outgoing Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq administered oath to the new members. The oath was administered in our national language Urdu.
All those who took oath individually signed the roll in alphabetical order to be the members of the house. PPP leader Asif Ali Zardari was the first one to sign the roll.
Prominent among those who took oath today included PTI Chief Imran Khan, President of PML(N) Mian Shahbaz Sharif, PPP Co-Chairperson and former President Asif Ali Zardari, and PPP Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto Zardari.
The outgoing Speaker welcomed newly elected members. He also read out the procedure for election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly, to be held on Wednesday.
Nomination papers would be received by the National Assembly Secretariat any time before noon tomorrow.
Nomination papers can be obtained from the National Assembly Secretariat and nominations can be withdrawn anytime before election process.
Newly elected members of the National Assembly have expressed their resolve to work in bipartisan manner to address challenges facing the country and help resolve problems of the people.
Talking to the media, MNAs said they would strive hard to meet expectations and confidence of people.
The members expressed satisfaction that for the third time democratic transition was taking place in peaceful and orderly manner.
The media has reported that the sentiments expressed by members representing different political parties were also reflected during proceedings of the house, which were remarkably calm and sober.
The House has now been adjourned till Wednesday at 10 a.m for the election of new Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

Check Also

Asad Umar assumes charge as Minister for Planning

ISLAMABAD  :   Asad Umar assumed charge as the Minister for Planning, Development, Reforms and Special …