Close contest expected in NA-57 between PML-N &PTI


Rawalpindi: A great contest is expected between former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi of PML-N and Sadaqt Abbasi of PTI in NA-57. PPP candidate Asif Satti is also contesting election form this constituency but real contest is expected in above mentioned personalities.Sources stated that despite great unrest in PML-N ranks Shahid Khaqan Abbasi could win the seat from PTI candidate.
From 1970 to 1977 this constituency named NA-26 and from 1977 to 2002 it turned into NA-36. In 2002 it renamed NA-50 but now in recently held delimitation the constituency called NA-57.
This constituency consists of three hilly areas of northern Punjab: Murree tehsil, Kotli Sattian tehsil and Kahuta tehsil.
Shahid khaqan Abbasi will defend his seat for PML-N. its strange that PTI didn’t awarded ticket to Ghlam Murtaza Satti who remained MNA from here from 2002 to 2008 and joined PTI last year.
Sadaqt Abaasi the PTI candidate who lost also in 2013 seems week candidate so Shahid Khaqan Abbassi will have and edge from this constituency.
Shahid Khaqan Abbassi from PML-N stormed its opponents and won the seat with quite huge margin of 80 thousand votes in last general election.
After four consecutive wins, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi of the PMLN lost this seat to his PPP rival, Ghulam Murtaza Satti, in 2002 in a triangular fight which also featured a candidate of the MMA who polled close to 30,000 votes.
In 2008 Abbasi regained his supremacy in this constituency and defeated Ghulam Murtaza satti. Abbasi nearly touched the mark of hundred thousand votes though Satti competed well and got 77thousand votes.Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is son of Air Commodore (retd) Khaqan Abbasi, a prominent businessman turned politician who was the Federal Minister for Industries and Production in General Zia-ul-Haq’s cabinet in the 1980s. Khaqan was a serving MNA and Federal Minister in Zia-ul-Haq’s cabinet when he died in the Ojhri Camp incident in 1988.However, aside from that particular contest, he has been winning every election from 1988 till 2008. Shahid Khaqan Abbasi had contested the election as independent candidate and won the election. In 1990 IGI hadn’t given ticket to him but despite of lack of ticket he won the seat with great margin.In the last held general election 2013 Shahid Khaqan Abbasi had defeated PTI candidate Sadaqt Abbasi with big margin. Shahid Khaqan Abbasi took 133906 votes and Sadaqt Abbasi got 46810 votes.
It was worth mentioning here that Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has served as Prime Minister after the disqualification of Main Muhammad Nawaz Sharif.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here