Nawaz Sharif reelected as PML-N president


Islamabad : Former Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif on Tuesday was re-elected unopposed as Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president to lead the party for next four years.
The nomination papers of Nawaz Shairf were filed by the Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry and Rana Afzal in Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

The polling time was set from 7 am to 9 am which was extended by half an hour. Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry was proposer and Rana Muhammad Afzal was seconder of Nawaz Sharif and no one else filed nomination papers against Nawaz Sharif till appointed time.
The nomination papers were subjected to scrutiny process and they were found in order. Nawaz Sharif was re-elected as PML-N president unopposed due to non filing of nomination papers from any other candidate.

Amir Afzal Mando Khel was appointed as returning officer for the election of party president while Raja Niazi performed his duties as secretary.
The poll was held at Convention Center in Islamabad.
Dr Fazal Chaudhry while talking to newsmen said that Nawaz Sharif has been elected as PML-N’s president and no other candidates filed nomination papers for the slot of PML-N’s president.
It is worth mentioning here that Supreme Court of Pakistan had disqualified Nawaz Sharif as Prime Minister and as party president as well in the Panama case.
On Monday, government adopted Electoral Reforms Bill 2017 after its approval in the Senate, National Assembly and by the state executive, paving way for disqualified public office holders to lead political parties. .
A session of the National Assembly approved the bill on Monday before it was signed by President Mamnoon Hussain in the night to make it a law. The law was enacted by the night of October 2nd.
Furthermore, interim president of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) chaired the central executive council (CEC) meeting of the party in Islamabad on Monday during which the CEC gave approval to amend the party constitution.
The meeting was attended by CM Punjab Shahbaz Sharif, Prime Minister Azad Kashmir, Chief Minister Gilgit-Baltistan, federal ministers including Ahsan Iqbal, Saad Rafiq and others.
The amendment in the PML-N’s constitution was moved by interim general secretary Ahsan Iqbal which paved the way for sacked premier Nawaz Sharif to become party’s president again.
Before the amendment, any person who was not eligible to become a member of the National Assembly could not have become the party head or hold a party post.
But after the amendment in clause 3 of article 120 of the PML-N constitution, an ineligible person can hold a party position.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here