After release, Shabbir Shah put under house detention

Srinagar: In occupied Kashmir, the puppet authorities put APHC General Secretary and Chairman of Democratic Freedom Party, Shabbir Ahmad Shah under house arrest, today, soon after his release from six months’ illegal detention.

Shabbir Shah was arrested on 13th July, 2016, after the extrajudicial killing of Hizbul Mujahideen commander, Burhan Wani, on 8th July.

A statement issued by the Democratic Freedom Party in Srinagar said that Shabbir Ahmad Shah was released in the afternoon and was immediately placed under house arrest, today. It said that after his release from jail in 2011, Shabbir Ahmad Shah, spent a period of 39 months and 27 days either under house arrest or in police detention. The statement said that the party Chairman could not offer 227 Fridays and 12 Eid prayers during the period.

Meanwhile, Indian army and police in a joint operation arrested Tehreek-e-Hurriyet district President Abdul Ghani from Sopore area of Baramulla district. He had been evading arrest since the past six months of the ongoing uprising.

The High Court of occupied Kashmir ordered immediate release of another senior Hurriyet leader, Masarrat Aalam, who is languishing in Kathua jail, Jammu. He was booked under draconian Public Safety Act after the 2010 uprising that left over 100 people dead in the Kashmir Valley. The Chairman of All Parties Hurriyet Conference, Syed Ali Gilani in a statement expressed satisfaction over the squashing of 34th draconian Public Safety Act against Masarrat Aalam Butt. However, he feared that the authorities might be trying to prepare another dossier to prolong the detention of the senior Hurriyet leader.

On the other hand, Hurriyet delegations led by Mukhtar Ahmad Waza, Muhammad Musaddiq Aadil and Hilal Ahmad War visited various areas of south, north and central Kashmir to express solidarity with the families of the youth, martyred by Indian troops during the ongoing uprising in the territory. The leaders addressing public gatherings on the occasion reiterated to safeguard the sacrifices of the martyrs, at all costs

The joint resistance leadership comprising Syed Ali Gilani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Mohammad Yasin Malik in its protest calendar has exempted from participating in the strike on Friday and Saturday in view of heavy backlog of cases pending for hearing.

Similar Posts